post-preview3Statistics show that more than 460k new twitter accounts are created every day and 177 million tweets are sent daily. An estimated 24% of twitter users check their twitter several times a day.

I joined twitter around five months ago. The main reason I joined was because while reading OK magazine it mentioned celebrities arguing over tweets. So I decided to join to see what the hype was about. I was disappointed as I was expecting to see fireworks and drama between celebrities, instead they had tweets saying that they went to the gym or that they just came home from the hair dressers. It was bizarre to see people tweeting every few minutes updating the world of their activities, and when I say activities I mean making a cup of tea, making a sandwich. Do we really care if someone is making a cup of tea?.. Well I cannot say I do.

I have read an article which you can access on this link. A joint study by researchers at Carnegie Mellon, the Georgia Institute of Technology and MIT found that most people are only interested in about a third of the tweets they read, the rest are either instantly ignored or disliked.

So are we a nation addicted to twitter?… I read an article from the Guardian in which results show  tweeting may be harder to resist than cigarettes and alcohol, according to researchers who tried to measure how well people could resist their desires. Hofmann told the Guardian: “Desires for media may be comparatively harder to resist because of their high availability and also because it feels like it does not ‘cost much’ to engage in these activities, even though one wants to resist” In contrast to this “With cigarettes and alcohol there are more costs – long-term as well as monetary – and the opportunity may not always be the right one. So, even though giving in to media desires is certainly less consequential, the frequent use may still ‘steal’ a lot of people’s time.”

I came across a site that measures ‘How addicted to twitter’ you are. My result was 12% which I think is an accurate result. So if you are reading this blog a think you are becoming a ‘Tweetaholic’ then you may want to check out this site.

 

